I have a job! Praise and Prayer…

Dear Lord,

Thank you! It has been 7 months since I’ve had regular employment. I am incredibly thankful for the relief this new job will bring. It’s not full-time, but it’s work, nonetheless – and for a respectable non-profit organization I can be proud to work for! 🙂 I just can’t lay my head down to sleep tonight without taking the opportunity to give you praise for this wonderful thing you have blessed me with. No more living week to week wondering where my next source of income is going to come from! And while it may seem crazy to some, I thank You for the hardships I’ve been undergoing for quite some time now, too. It has had me constantly clinging to you for guidance and help. Thank you so much for carrying me through my struggles and for always providing just what I’ve needed when I’ve needed it, and for gently wrapping your arms around me in love – all actualized through Your spirit and the people who have surrounded me with your love. Lord, help me to not forget just how much I ALWAYS have, do, and will need you – everyday – from the big stuff to the little stuff. There are still some very huge challenges in my life, as you know, but I’m so happy to have this one off the list now. I pray for continued strength in self-discipline with regard to wise spending habits as I begin to earn regular income again. Help me to not slip into such a comfortable place that I forget what a blessing it is to have a job and a regular income. Help me to remember that with this blessing comes the responsibility to do good with this gift you have given me – to find ways to ensure the use of the gift honors You. Having to do without the comforts I had grown to take for granted has been such a great learning lesson. It has further confirmed for me how you, Lord, truly do follow through on your promises to always provide for your children’s needs. You don’t promise us our wants, but you do promise our needs. It has been incredibly humbling, but I know humility was something I needed and will continue to need. You provided random temp work and contract work just in the nick of time. You put it in the hearts of a few to offer financial gifts – some known, some anonymous. You provided me with a roof over my head. I can go on and on and on listing out the endless ways you cared for me. I deeply pray I don’t forget the grace you bestowed on me when I needed it more than ever in my life and remind me of how you are ALWAYS doing that – whether it’s noticed or not. I pray I don’t forget both the life and spiritual lessons of my joblessness experience. I also ask that You continue to use my experience to further develop my compassion for and toward others in need. Thank you, thank you, thank you. Amen.

“He humbled you, allowed you to hunger, and fed you with manna which you did not know nor did your fathers know, that He might make you know that man shall not live by bread alone; but man lives by every work that proceeds from the mount of the Lord.” Deuteronomy 8:2-3

“The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.
He makes me to lie down in green pastures;
He leads me beside the still waters.
He restores my soul;
He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.” Psalm 23:1-3

“And my God shall supply all you need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus. Now to our God and Father be glory forever and ever.” Phillipans 4:19-20

“Therefore do not worry, saying, “What shall we eat?” or “What shall we wear?” For after all these things the Gentiles seek. For your heavenly Father know that you need all these things. But see first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow… ” Matthew 6:31-34

I finish up my temp job the end of next week and start my new job the following week. Please pray I will begin the new job with a clear mind and thankful heart – despite my other hardships that are ever present. Thanks! 🙂

2 thoughts on “I have a job! Praise and Prayer…

Leave a Reply

